top of page

Underrated Musical Artists That You Should Be Listening To & Adding To Your Playlists Straight Away!



Here are some singers and bands that I have been listening to lately, that I think deserve way more recognition than they do! Who doesn't love finding an underrated musician and watching them grow and succeed?


Maddie Adderley

Photo credit: Heightzone



Maddie Adderley is an 18 year old singer/songwriter from London. I must admit that I discovered Maddie through her parents YouTube channel 'The Sawalha-Adderley's - Family, Food, Films & Fun', I've known and been a fan of her mum, Nadia Sawalha, for a while on Loose Women, her dad, Mark Adderley, is also a film maker, her auntie is actress Julia Sawalha, best known from for her role as Saffron Monsoon in Absolutely Fabulous, and her grandfather is also actor Nadim Sawalha, although I don't want this to be about that, I want this to be about the amazing talent that she has within singing and song writing, not just because she's from a famous family, as I know that can be annoying for children/teens that have relatives in the industry.

Her talent speaks for itself. Her voice and song writing is absolutely amazing and although she doesn't have a lot in her discography, what she does have, shouldn't be missed! Since her song, Better Days Are Coming, came out during the pandemic, in February 2021, I've had it on repeat ever since and that's one of my favourite songs by her. Maddie also contributed in the amazing, emotional Breathe Harmony NHS Choir cover of Anytime You Need A Friend by Mariah Carey, during lockdown, which is available on Spotify and YouTube if you want to check it out. Maddie's music is inspired by Jazz and she is inspired a lot by Amy Winehouse. I am excited to hear more music from her in the future and I hope that she brings out a full debut album in the near future. I've also heard that she enjoys acting as well, so maybe we will see her acting on stages or screens one day? You never know, she might follow in her families footsteps of film and television. Maddie currently has 558 monthly followers on Spotify at the moment but it should be way higher than that, and she should be played on radio stations. BBC Introducing need to get on it to be honest!


My Favourite Tracks

Better Days Are Coming, I Hate Myself, Settle Down, Christmas Night, A Happy Song, & Damn I Love You.

Follow Maddie on social media:

Twitter - @maddieadderley2

Instagram - @maddiemaddieee





Cloves

Photo credit: PM Studio World Wide News



Cloves aka Kaity Dunstan, is a 25 year old singer/songwriter originally from Melbourne Australia, living in London. I first found out about Cloves a few years ago through one of my favourite bands Greta Van Fleet, and fell in love with her voice and music straight away with her album One Big Nothing and one of her really popular songs Don't Forget About Me. Cloves recently brought out a new album called Nightmare On Elmfield Road, which in my opinion is better than One Big Nothing. They're both great pieces of art, but they're both very different music wise, lyric wise and by theme. I also love how the title of her new album is like a play on words to The Nightmare On Elm Street, and you also get a sense of a horror theme throughout the album with the song titles, lyrics, and the eeriness of a lot of the songs in how they sound. Cloves has been getting a lot more recognition recently, since it was released, with a lot of radio play, which is brilliant, however, I still think that she is severely underrated and deserves a lot more recognition! I've never seen her live so I'm excited to hear how she sounds live once concerts are back. Hopefully she will tour this album after the pandemic.


My Favourite Tracks

Don't Forget About Me, California Numb, Hit Me Hard, Frail Love, Up and Down, One Big Nothing, Manic, Sicko, Nightmare, Dead, & Beast.

Follow Cloves on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @clovesdot





EEVAH

Photo credit: rambleon2themusic.com


EEVAH are a Leeds based duo that formed in 2019 in the form of "classic 80's electro pop, with catchy pop hooks". I first discovered them on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire and not only am I in love with her voice, but I love how you can hear a huge 80's influence. Being a big fan of 80's music and movies myself, I love how they've incorporated an 80's feel in their music, whilst also keeping it fresh and modern. I hope to hear more from this duo in the future, and I can't wait to see them live one day.


My Favourite Tracks

Call Me When You're Sober, Digital Heart, Can't Breathe, Promises, & Look What You Had.

Follow EEVAH on social media:

Twitter - @eevahmusic

Instagram - @eevah_


Edited People

Photo credit: Editedpeople.co.uk



Edited People are a three piece band from Leeds. I also discovered them on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire, and I have been obsessed with their music ever since. "Enticing and often haunting vocal lines will leave you both captivated and obsessed". Although they don't have an album out yet, there are still plenty of singles to listen to on their Spotify, that give you a feel of what this band is all about, and they keep bringing out new songs recently, so keep an eye out on their social media and Spotify. I'm excited to see them grow and hopefully bring a debut album out in the near future. I can tell that this band will be energetic at their live shows.


My Favourite Tracks

It's Always Been You, What I Want, It's Okay, Queen For A Week, Dream Chaser, & Everything I Need.

Follow Edited People on social media:

Twitter & Tik Tok - @editedpeople

Instagram - @edited.people





Stream their music and videos on Spotify and YouTube



Cloves:


EEVAH:

YouTube - EEVAH - YouTube


Edited People:


Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page