top of page

My Top 10 Little Mix Songs - 10 Years of Little Mix!


Credit: The Mirror, We Heart It, Genius, MTV, Capital, Billboard, Gay Times, and People.




10 years of Little Mix... how has it been a decade already?! It has been amazing to see this girlband grow from young teens on The X Factor into such confident, powerful, empowering young women, whilst being in one of the biggest girlbands ever! I am so proud of everything they have accomplished, and as a fan that has been there since The X Factor, it's lovely to see that they are still so humble and appreciative of everything. Since winning The X Factor in 2011, they have gone on to make six albums, tour the world, win awards, have their own tour movie, Leigh-Anne and Jesy made documentaries, They have worked in fashion with their Pretty Little Thing and USA Pro clothing lines, Jade even had her own clothing line with Skinny Dip. Little Mix very recently have wax figures of themselves in Madame Tussauds, with the set and clothing playing homage to Bounce Back, they have dolls of themselves, perfumes, body sprays, make-up, books, done stuff for charity, including their charity single of Word Up! by Cameo, for Sport Relief in 2014. They've even had their own television show called Little Mix: The Search, where they created six new bands, and the winner will be going on tour with them. The format was kind of like their journey on The X Factor, but more of a modern twist to it, making it more enjoyable and fun. There was only one season, and we don't know if it will be coming back in the near future or not. These four ladies have accomplished so much in the past decade, the fans become more and more proud of them. (I wish I had their energy haha). Although Jesy decided to part ways with the girls around the end of 2020, Jade, Perrie, and Leigh-Anne still decided to carry on as a three piece and we're so glad they did. From the most recent music they have brought out as a three, they have no disappointed and I can't wait to hear more music from them as a three piece. Jesy will sadly be missed, she has such a unique voice, amazing dance moves, funny banter in interviews, and their friendship was so close, however she is doing what is best for her, and she will be bringing new solo music out very soon. I wish Jesy all the best, and I'm intrigued to hear how her solo music will sound.


I decided to write about my favourite ten songs by Little Mix, however it's so hard to pick just ten songs from six albums. I've managed to narrow it down, but it was so hard, and I'll probably change my mind after I've finished this post, they have so many bangers! Some of them on this list are singles (please don't call me a fake fan haha). I also did this list in album order as well, it was too hard for me to pick a favourite Little Mix song to go first, so I'm doing them from oldest to newest.



Turn Your Face


Turn Your Face is such an emotional and powerful song. Their vocals in this just astound me and this song usually leaves me a bit teary eyed. You can hear the strong emotion in their voices and it shows off the girls voices, showing their capabilities as singers. A piano, strings, and their powerful voices. Effortless. I love a good ballad and I love that they always include ballads in their albums, not just upbeat bops. Goosebumps every time!



Little Me

Little Me is one of their most underrated songs, in my opinion. Again this is kind of like a ballad but a bit more upbeat. I love the meaning of this song as they're speaking about their younger selves being shy and quiet, and not as confident as they are now, saying to their fans that you can gain confidence even if you're shy, and you can doing anything that you want to do if you just go for it! Little Me never got the recognition it deserved when it was released, in my opinion, and I'm still mad about it, it should have been number one and it should have been played on all of the radio stations. Although Little Me did peak in the uk at number 14, which is still amazing!



No More Sad Songs

No More Sad Songs has two different versions, one with Machine Gun Kelly and another with just the girls. I love both versions, but I always find myself listening to the MGK remix more. The song is an upbeat song about them not wanting to hear sad songs anymore and just having a good time even if you're not in the best mood, "I'm begging please don't play no more sad songs" I love MGK's verse and I love that the music video has a very Coyote Ugly vibe to it, which is a movie that I adore.



Power

Power is a very empowering song, especially with the aim of it being aimed as female empowerment. As a female, a feminist, and a massive Spice Girls fans, I'm all for a female empowering song. There is also a Stormzy remix version for this song, but I prefer the original. This song starts off with very strong and loud vocals from Perrie, so you know it's going to be a banger already! The music video shows all four girls showing their personalities throughout, and I love that Jade included some of my favourite drag queens in this music video.



Woman Like Me ft. Nicki Minaj

Woman Like Me is another female empowered song (lets face it, most of Little Mix's music is haha) I always have this song stuck in my head and I love Nicki Minaj's input in this song. I love the music video and I loved the chorography to this that they performed on The X Factor. "Could you fall for a woman like me? A womaaannnnnnn!"



Monster In Me

Monster In Me is a song that grew on me from the LM5 album, but now it's one of my favourites and I'm always playing it. I especially love Perrie's voice in the chorus, whilst the other girls are harmonizing in the background. Although the lyrics are quite deep and sadly emotional, it's such a beautiful song.



Holiday

Holiday is a massive summer bop and although it came out last year, I'm still playing on repeat this summer as if it's brand new. I love the contrast of the verses and I absolutely love the difference of Jade's part in the pre-chorus, which then leads to Perrie belting at the end. Although the music video got different opinions, and the girls say that it's one of their least favourite music videos, I absolutely love the mermaid vibes of the music video, however, I do prefer the alternative vertical video more.



Sweet Melody

Sweet Melody is by far one of their best music videos (as well as songs obviously) This wasn't the first music video and single for Confetti, but it started off the era with a bang. Not only is the song absolutely killer, but the chorography, outfits and everything in the music video just shows why they deserve every bit of success they get. Although the song is sad lyrically, about cheating ex's and breakups, the song is so upbeat, carefree, and fun that you just start doing the choreography without a care in the world. Jade's entrance to this music video and the transitions from Jade, Leigh-Anne and Perrie are iconic.



Happiness

Happiness was one of my favourites from Confetti, although I love every song from this album, Happiness just stands out. I love that the beginning is quiet slow, and then the "oh oh oooooooo" comes before the chorus, the chorus hits and it goes off! I love the lyrics, and I love how high their voices go in this song. I like how although this song is about ex's, they're saying "I found the love in me" so it's basically a song about finding self love. I love the different creative elements in this song, especially when Jesy sings "meeeeee" in the middle of the chorus and "never, gonna, lose because".



My Love Won't Let You Down

My Love Won't Let You Down is an emotional ballad and it's even more emotional now that Jesy has left, knowing that Jesy won't be in anymore songs, albums, tours, photoshoots with the other three girls anymore. Jesy's parts in this song are especially emotional, as you can hear the emotion in her voice a lot, as well as the other girls, and it kind of sounds like Perrie, Jade, and Leigh are all singing to Jesy, and vice versa. They're all saying that they'll still all be there for each other, even though they won't always be together, as well as being there for the fans. It's such a simple song, but their vocals are outstanding in this song. Leigh-Anne sounds so beautiful at the end.



So these are my ten favourite Little Mix songs, but as I said before there's so many I simply can't really chose, and by the time I have posted this it probably will have changed. Cannonball, Wasabi, Confetti, Break Up Song, Woman's World, Always Be Together, Pretend It's Ok, Salute, A Mess (Happy 4 U), Love Me Or Leave Me, SOTME, there's too many, and I need to stop now otherwise I'll be typing their whole discography haha.


Here's to another amazing decade for these ladies, here's to Leigh-Anne and Perrie becoming first time mothers, here's to Jesy's solo career, and here's to Little Mix hopefully staying together forever, I don't want another sadness after the Spice Girls and One Direction breaking up :(




Read my reviews and ratings out of 5 of Little Mix's whole discography, and of other bands and artists, on my musicboard: @rambleon rambleon's profile - Musicbo


Follow me on social media:

Twitter and Instagram: @BethanyFoden @fodenfilms & @cinecertic





Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page