top of page

More Band's and Singer's, From Yorkshire, That You Need to Hear!



Following on from the first blog post, I thought I would do a part two, as the first post went down quite well. If you haven't seen the first blog post, go back and read it, because there is so much talent that you need to hear from Yorkshire!


As a blogger, and music lover, I enjoy discovering new bands/artist that have been around for a while, but aren't as well known, therefore they don't get the recognition that they deserve. As I am a blogger from West Yorkshire, my aim was to find local artists and musicians, from the Yorkshire area, to listen to, and to try and reach out to a wider audience on social media.



B-ahwe

Photo credit: The Gryphon



B-ahwe is "the little creature inside us all that makes up our best bits. It’s an open channel spilling out secrets and wishes over a hot pot of hip-hop, trip-hop, and neo-soul sprinkled with jazzy chords, lush vocal textures and, moody, ambient soundscapes". B-ahwe, aka Bethany Herrington, is known as "Trip-hop Kate Bush", Bethany is a singer/songwriter from Leeds, and has been releasing music since 2017. I'm in awe of her voice, music, and lyrics, and as you go through her discography, you can hear the growth throughout. I'm excited to see what she releases next and I hope to catch one of her live performances one day.


My Favourite Tracks

Closer, Sliding, Sweet, & Finding Your Haven.



Follow B-ahwe on social media:

Twitter - @b_ahwe_

Instagram - @b.ahwe



Eades

Photo credit: Twitter



Eades are a music collective from Leeds, "made up of songwriters, producers, sound engineers and session musicians. With a simple common goal: to make alternative music they can be proud of. Recorded and mixed from there very own Bam Bam Studios ran by Harry (Lead Vox/Guitar) and Dan (Drums and Percussion)." I only found about them today, as their new release was being promoted on the BBC Introducing West Yorkshire instagram account, and I loved their music straight away. They kind of give me a bit of an Arctic Monkeys feel to them, even though they're very different at the same time.


My Favourite Tracks

Former Warnings Cluster, Saying Forever, Vivid Dreams, Make It Outside, I Want More, Present In The Moment, & Smoking Hour.


Follow Eades on social media:

Twitter - @eadesmusic

Instagram - @eades_music




The Sheratons

Photo credit: Soundcloud



The Sheratons are an indie rock band from Leeds. "From indie rock anthems to feel good melodies proudly express their individual and collective talents to make refreshing yet relevant music. Since the band's formation they have caught the ears of BBC 6 DJ Steve Lamacq and Radio X DJ John Kennedy". I also only heard them the past couple days on BBC Introducing, but their sound caught my attention straight away, and I'm excited to see them grow, when they hopefully bring out more music.


My Favourite Tracks

Part of a Picture, Raving And Drooling, & Her Mind.


Follow them on social media:

Twitter - @thesheratonsuk

Instagram - @the_sheratons




JWestern

Photo credit: Dork



JWestern is a singer/songwriter and musician from Leeds. I discovered him on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire and was drawn to his voice straight away, I just had to go straight over to Spotify, to listen to more of his discography. I'm excited to hear what he brings out next.


My Favourite Tracks

Call You Right Now, Let's Disappear & Aspirin.



Follow JWestern on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @JWesternn



Team Picture

Photo credit: PRS For Music.



Team Picture are a six piece alternative musical group from Leeds. "Team Picture emerged in 2016 with their euphoric, loud debut single Birthday Blues, Blurring the lines between alt-rock, indie and pop, their experimental sound sees them channel the soundtracks to your favourite 80s movies". I also only found out about this band recently, from BBC Introducing, but I've had them on repeat ever since. I can't believe they have been around since 2016, and I've only just found out about them now!


My Favourite Tracks

(I Have A) Little Secret, Break Yr Heart, Strange Year, Clone You, & Sleeptype Auction.



Follow Team Picture on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @teampictureband



Phibi

Photo credit: Spotify


Phibi is an alternative R&B singer/songwriter, and producer, from Durham. Phibi is musically inspired by a multitude of genres, ranging from R&B, Metal, Folk, Rap etc. Phibi is self taught and currently producing her own music. I only found out about Phibi today, through BBC Introducing, and I added her music to my playlists straight away. I love how her music is in the style of R&B, but she also incorporates other genres into it, which makes it different and unique to other R&B music today.


My Favourite Tracks

Fine By You & Russian Doll.


Follow Phibi on social media:

Twitter - @phizzy_temple

Instagram - @wholesum_youth




The Ardents

Photo credit: Ardents.band


The Ardents are a musical group from Scarborough. "They fuse together a fierce storm of gritty rock with soul-stirring melodies and infectious rhythms. They are known for blurring the line between rock, blues and country as they bring a fresh new flavour to the global music scene." I love that they incorporate the cello into their style of music. "The cellist doesn't just make great sounding music, but tells stories. Her skills take you right into another world". I can't wait to hear more from The Ardents.


My Favourite Track

What About.

Follow The Ardents on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @theardentsband



Ellen Smith

Photo credit: The Firm



Ellen Smith is a singer/songwriter from Leeds. Ellen actually contributed two tracks to the Amazon Prime documentary series 'Take Us Home', one of them being named the same as the documentary title. "The documentary was about Leeds United's 2018/2019 campaign, including a spine-tingling cover of Marching On Together which soundtracks the climax of the series' final episode". From what I've seen on Spotify, Ellen only has a few songs out, but I hope to hear more from her, in the near future.


My Favourite Track

Take Us Home.


Follow Ellen on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @ellensmith_uk



Cole LC

Photo credit: Red Light Management



Cole LC is a R&B/Rap artist from Leeds. His music isn't my usual go to, but as soon as I heard it on BBC Introducing, I was immediately hooked and impressed with his rapping, especially for someone so young. Cole started out busking on the streets of Leeds and grew a following from there. I think he will go far in the rap genre, and I'm excited to hear more from him as he grows as an artist. He's only just starting out, at such a young age, and he's already receiving lots of praise.


My Favourite Tracks

Rollin' (Feat Double LZ), Grip N Slide, & Letter To Piotr.


Follow Cole on social media:

Twitter - @colelcmusic

Instagram - @colelc




Spotify Links
































Reference Links

Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page