top of page

Bands and Singers, From Yorkshire, That You Need To Hear!



As a blogger, and a music lover, I enjoy discovering new bands/artists, and underrated bands and artists that have been around for a while, but aren't as well known, therefore they don't get the recognition that they deserve. I love to promote new bands, singers, and musicians that I hear about, as much as I can. There's so much talent out there that don't get the recognition and following that they deserve, you just have to look for it if its not on the mainstream radio stations. As I am a blogger from West Yorkshire, I decided that my aim was to find local artists and musicians, from the Yorkshire area, to listen to and become a fan of myself, but also to reach out to a wider audience on social media, by getting the word out to other music fans around the world, sharing on my Twitter, Instagram stories, and Facebook. Shout out to BBC Introducing, because I found most of these from there. Here are the results so far.



Edited People

Photo credit: Editedpeople.co.uk



Edited People are a three piece band from Leeds. I only discovered this band recently, on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire, and I have been obsessed with their music ever since. "Enticing and often haunting vocal lines will leave you both captivated and obsessed". Although they don't have an album out yet, there are still plenty of singles to listen to on their Spotify, that give you a feel of what this band is all about. I'm excited to see them grow and hopefully bring a debut album out in the near future. I can tell that this band will be energetic live and I hope to see them in concert after the pandemic.


My Favourite Tracks

It's Always Been You, What I Want, It's Okay, Queen For A Week, & Dream Chaser.



Follow them on social media:

Twitter & Tik Tok - @editedpeople

Instagram - @edited.people



EEVAH


Photo credit: rambleon2themusic.com



EEVAH are a Leeds based duo that formed in 2019 in the form of "classic 80's electro pop, with catchy pop hooks". I first discovered them on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire and not only am I in love with her voice, but I love how you can hear a huge 80's influence. Being a big fan of 80's music and movies myself, I love how they've incorporated an 80's feel in their music, whilst also keeping it fresh and modern. I hope to hear more from this duo in the future, and I can't wait to see them live one day.


My Favourite Tracks

Call Me When You're Sober, Digital Heart, Can't Breathe, Promises, & Look What You Had.



Follow EEVAH on social media:

Twitter - @eevahmusic

Instagram - @eevah_


The Loose Cut

Photo credit: @TheLooseCut on Twitter.



The Loose Cut are a four piece rock band from Leeds. I discovered this band from a friend and I have been listening to their music on repeat ever since. They're played quite a bit on BBC West Yorkshire Introducing and BBC 6, they also played on the BBC Introducing stage at Reading and Leeds in 2019. Although their discography isn't made up of a lot of songs, the music that they have released so far is worth the listen. Their first official song came out in 2015, and they've only released singles and ep's so far. Hopefully in the near future we will get a full album from them? and I also hope to see them live in the near future. I had tickets for a Leeds show but didn't end up making it because of clashing events.


My Favourite Tracks

Demons, Listen Up, & Hypnosis.



Follow them on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @TheLooseCut



Allusinlove

Photo credit: Altcorner.com



Allusinlove (previously Allusondrugs) are a four piece band from Castleford, West Yorkshire. I discovered this band through a colleague and I have seen them live a couple times in Castleford and Leeds. They have brought out a couple ep's and singles in the past, but they released their debut album in 2019 named It's Okay To Talk. I attended the release party in Castleford and the atmosphere was amazing. This band definitely get the crowd going and their shows are always a fun time.


My Favourite Tracks

Just Like Hell, It's Okay To Talk & Bad Girls.



Follow them on social media:

Twitter - @allusinlove

Instagram - @allusinlove.x



Dead Naked Hippies

Photo credit: Megan Wood / Words For Music



Dead Naked Hippies are a "thrashing, screaming, art-rock outsider" trio from Leeds. I first discovered this band through West Yorkshire BBC Introducing, liked what I heard, and immediately went to see them live in Leeds, just before the pandemic. The frontwoman knows how to hold a crowd and their shows are very lively and energetic. They recently brought out a new song called Curiosity (Dawn), available on all music streaming platforms.


My Favourite Tracks

Drain You, I Can't Wait, I Wanna Know Ya, Stay Quiet, Rare, & Eyes Wide.



Follow them on social media.

Twitter - @deadnkdhippies

Instagram - @deadnakedhippies



Musumba

Photo credit: Soundcloud



Musumba is a Christian singer, songwriter and rapper from Bradford. Her music caught my eye on BBC Introducing West Yorkshire this week, and I was very impressed with her straight away. "Experimenting with the fusion of African rhythms, R&B vocals, and rap". Her message is very powerful, and her rapping is off the chart. Musumba takes inspiration from Lady Leshurr, Little Simz, Lady Sanity, and Koffee. I see her going very far, and I'm excited to see her grow in the industry.


My Favourite Tracks

Pourquoi, Different Waves, Intro & Table.



Follow Musumba on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @MusumbaOfficial



Bella

Photo credit: www.scotsman.com



Bella is a singer/songwriter based in Leeds. Although she only has three songs on her spotify, she blew me away as soon as I heard her song Feels on West Yorkshire's BBC Introducing, and I'm excited to hopefully hear more from her.


My Favourite Tracks

Feels & Before You Go.


I can't find any social media for her (Sorry).



Mya Craig

Photo credit: Mya's Twitter.



Mya Craig is an R&B singer/songwriter from Leeds. "In a short space of time, Mya has been climbing the ladder independently, writing her own songs since the age of 14". I also found out about Mya from BBC Introducing West Yorkshire. "Mya has been pinned as an artist to watch by Link Up TV, and BBC Radio Leeds".


My Favourite Tracks

Tell Me & You & Me (Feat Arin Ray)



Follow Mya on social media:

Twitter & Instagram - @myacraigg




If you know of any bands, musicians or singers, that I haven't mentioned, please feel free to message me on here or on my social media, and I'll definitely give them a listen. I love finding new music. Don't forget to support independent and local music. I've been to so many great gigs that have been cheap concerts, in the local club/pub. Don't just listen to mainstream pop, that's amazing as well, but there's so much music out there!



Spotify Links












Reference Links


Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page